Governance and Board

The Australian Ballet is a not-for-profit public company limited by guarantee. A Board of Directors, appointed by company Membership at an Annual General Meeting, governs The Australian Ballet.


The Board makes a number of appointments to assist it to carry out its functions. Currently these include:

Audit and Risk Committee

  • Bruce Parncutt (Chair)
  • Jim Cousins AO
  • Craig Dunn
  • Penny Fowler


Nominations and Remuneration Committee

  • Catherine Harris AO PSM (Chair)
  • Craig Dunn
  • Tony Osmond


Investment Committee

  • Tony Osmond (Chair)
  • John Ellice-Flint
  • John Morrison
  • Bruce Parncutt


Foundation Board

  • Edwina McCann (Chair)
  • Mary Barlow
  • Bill Bowness
  • Robin Campbell
  • Jim Cousins AO
  • Georgie Curran
  • Robert McCormack AM


Orchestra Victoria Board

  • Libby Christie (Chair)
  • David McAllister AM
  • Peter Hough
  • Angela Kelly


Building Redevelopment Steering Committee

  • Jim Cousins AO (Chair)
  • Craig Dunn
  • Graeme Parton


Orchestra Victoria is a wholly owned subsidiary of The Australian Ballet. Its constitution defines the company’s purposes and governance arrangements (link).

Orchestra Victoria’s Board reports to the Board of The Australian Ballet.

Company Secretary: Peter Hough