The Australian Ballet

World Ballet Day

WBD 2500x1750

Join us to celebrate 10 years of World Ballet Day.

Over the course of the day, rehearsals, discussions, and classes will be streamed for free across six continents, offering unique behind-the-scenes glimpses of ballet’s biggest stars and upcoming performers.

Watch The Australian Ballet’s stream here, our YouTube Channel, or visit worldballetday.com to see the full schedule which includes The Royal Opera House, San Fransisco Ballet, and many other guest companies from all around the world.

Livestream

WBD Thumb
1200x15604

Robyn Hendricks

EK Anna K rehearsal 40 1

Robyn Hendricks and Callum Linnane

“World Ballet Day is a moment to open the studio doors of The Australian Ballet and share the intimate work our dancers exert on a daily basis. Before any show, is hours of rehearsal, and World Ballet Day is the chance to see the beauty of ballet, expressed right before you in the most up close of ways.” David Hall­berg, Artis­tic Director
KL 29 WBD 0 G4 A8374

Go behind the scenes

Come inside the studio to see morning class, followed by rehearsals for Swan Lake. We'll also have some appearances from special guests, who'll help us celebrate the 10th year of World Ballet Day.

Subscribe to us on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, and TikTok to engage with us on the day.

To see the full schedule of all companies, visit the schedule here.

What you'll see on the day

  • Morning class with teacher Kirsty Martin and pianist Andrew Dunlop
  • In Conversation with Artistic Directors David Hallberg and Kevin O'Hare OBE
  • Elite Athleticism and Ballet Health segment
  • Cygnet Rehearsal - Act II of Swan Lake
  • Interviews with artist and creatives of The Australian Ballet
  • Pas de deux rehearsal from Marguerite and Armand
  • Fairies rehearsal from The Dream

When to watch on November 1

If based in Australia

  • Melbourne 10.30am to 1.30pm
  • Sydney 10.30am to 1.30pm
  • Adelaide 10am to 1pm
  • Brisbane 9.30am to 12.30pm
  • Darwin 9am to 12pm
  • Perth 7.30am to 10.30am


International time zones

  • Cape Town, South Africa 1.30am to 4.30am Wednesday 1 November
  • London, UK 11.30pm Tuesday 31 October to 2.30am Wednesday 1 November
  • Los Angeles, USA 4.30pm to 7.30pm Tuesday 31 October
  • New Delhi, India 5am to 8am Wednesday 1 November
  • New York, USA 7.30pm to 10.30pm Tuesday 31 October
  • Rome, Italy 12.30am to 3.30am Wednesday 1 November
  • Sao Paulo, Brazil 8.30pm to 11.30pm Tuesday 31 October
  • Singapore, Singapore 7.30am to 10.30am Wednesday 1 November
  • Tokyo, Japan 8.30am to 11.30am Wednesday 1 November
  • Wellington, New Zealand 12.30pm to 3.30pm Wednesday 1 November