Behind the Scenes

Join us for a special peek into the daily life of our dancers. Watch as they take class on stage and fine-tune their technique in preparation for a performance. Sydney and Melbourne audiences will also have the opportunity to watch one of our principal couples in an intimate coaching session. 

Behind the Scenes is available to purchase as part of a Melbourne or Sydney 2018 Season Package. Receive 25% off when you add three or more events to your package.

The rehearsal room is a very special place. It’s a place where a lot of knowledge is disseminated and where dancers can hone their craft. It is where roles are built and developed, to the point where they are ready to be put on stage. It’s quite an amazing atmosphere.

BALLET MASTER & REGIONAL TOURING ASSOCIATE STEVEN HEATHCOTE

Tickets

$29 | $19 groups 10+ | $9 non-metro

Duration

60 minutes, 45 minutes

Suitable for

Ages 6 and above

Step Inside Email

News about and offers for our events, talks and classes

Sign up
Sign up to Step Inside Email

Behind the Scenes

Get up close and personal with the extraordinary dancers of The Australian Ballet

Photography Dan Boud
  • Venues and dates

    • 2017 Melbourne

      Arts Centre Melbourne
      100 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne

      Day Date Time Venue
      Friday 24 March 2017 11.30am - 12.30pm Arts Centre Melbourne
      Friday 9 June 2017 11.30am – 12.30pm Arts Centre Melbounre
      Friday 29 September 2017 11.30am – 12.30pm Arts Centre Melbounre
    • Sydney

      Joan Sutherland Theatre, Sydney Opera House
      Bennelong Point, Sydney

      Capitol Theatre
      ​13 Campbell St, Haymarket, Sydney

      Day Date Time Venue
      Tuesday 11 April 2017 11.30am - 12.30pm Sydney Opera House
      Wednesday 17 May 2017 11.30am – 12.30pm Sydney Opera House
      Tuesday 19 December 2017 11.30am – 12.30pm Capitol Theatre
    • Port Macquarie

      The Glasshouse
      32/40 Clarence St, Port Macquarie NSW 2444

      Day Date Time Venue
      Saturday 21 October 12–12.45pm The Glasshouse
    • Taree

      Manning Entertainment Centre
      33 Manning River Dr, Taree NSW 2430

      Day Date Time Venue
      Thursday 19 October 12–12.45pm Manning Entertainment Centre
    • 2018 Sydney

      Sydney Opera House
      Bennelong Point, Sydney

      On sale as part of a Sydney Season Package

      Day Date Time Venue
      Friday Friday 20 April 2018 11.30am Sydney Opera House
      Friday Friday 11 May 2018 11.30am Sydney Opera House
      Friday Friday 16 November 2018 11.30am Sydney Opera House
      Friday Friday 14 December 2018 11.30am Sydney Opera House
    • 2018 Melbourne

      Arts Centre Mebourne
      100 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne

      On sale as part of a Season Package

      Day Date Time Venue
      Friday 23 March 2018 11.30am Arts Centre Melbourne
      Monday 11 June 2018 11.30am Arts Centre Melbourne
      Tuesday 25 September 2018 11.30am Arts Centre Melbourne