Company Overview

The Australian Ballet was established in 1962 and is Australia’s national ballet company. The company, a not-for-profit public company limited by guarantee, is funded primarily through its own commercial and fundraising activities. We also receive funding from the Commonwealth, NSW and Victorian Governments through the Australia Council for the Arts as a Major Performing Arts Company. The Australian Ballet’s wholly-owned subsidiary, Orchestra Victoria, provides orchestral services for Opera Australia, Victorian Opera and for The Australian Ballet. 

The Australian Ballet presents performances each year in capital cities, regional centres and schools around Australia. The Australian Ballet is the resident ballet company at the Sydney Opera House and the Arts Centre Melbourne. The company regularly tours to major international cultural centres.

The Australian Ballet is based in Melbourne at The Primrose Potter Australian Ballet Centre, which also accommodates The Australian Ballet School. The Australian Ballet provides facilities and services to the school and the two companies enjoy a close relationship, including collaboration on artistic projects such as regional tours. Each year talented graduates of The Australian Ballet School are invited to join The Australian Ballet. Around 75% of company members are graduates of The Australian Ballet School. 

The Australian Ballet also owns and operates The Australian Ballet Production Centre at Altona in Melbourne’s west and has offices in Sydney.

A classical company of depth, style and unified spirit.


Did you know?

Click on the topics below to read interesting facts about The Australian Ballet. For more detailed information, please view our Annual Reports.


    Company founded 1962

    Total number of employees 285 (including Orchestra Victoria)

    Number of dancers 79

    Number of musicians 62

    Year commenced international touring 1963

    Number of countries toured internationally 37 (88 cities in 5 continents)


    Total performances 229

    Paid capacity for mainstage performances 89%

    Total Australian mainstage audience 267,541

    International audience, 2015 China Tour 9,944  

    Storytime Ballet audience 16,770 (inaugural season, December)

    Regional tour audience 11,419

    Free outdoor audience 7,500


    World Ballet Day live stream viewers 350,000 worldwide

    Out There – The Australian Ballet in schools education program participants 18,320 students and teachers

    Out There – The Australian Ballet in schools, reach 117 schools nationally

    Audience engagement program participants 28,232


    The Australian Ballet’s Honorary Life Memberships were created over 25 years ago to recognise and honour exceptional artistic, administrative, governance, management, fundraising, philanthropy or voluntary services made to the company. Honorary Life Membership expresses our appreciation for all that the recipients have done to further the interests of this company, our dancers and ballet. We celebrate our Honorary Life Members by acknowledging them in our publications, on our building, on our Honour Roll, and from time to time at events of The Australian Ballet. 


    Past and present Life Members of The Australian Ballet
    Dame Peggy van Praagh DBE      
    NR Seddon AO CBE            
    Sir Ian Potter     
    Sir Robert Helpmann CBE             
    Mr Noel Pelly AM
    Dr HC Coombs
    Ms Ila Massy Burnside
    Mr John McCallum AO CBE
    Sir Robert Southey AO CMG
    Lady June Porter
    Mr John Calvert-Jones AM 
    Mr Colin Peasley OAM
    Lady Primrose Potter AC              
    Dame Margaret Scott AC DBE    
    Lady Marigold Southey AC          
    Ms Josephine Woodgate OAM         
    Mr FW Millar AO CBE               
    Elizabeth Albert
    Mr Robert O Albert AO RFD RD         
    Mr Timothy KF Cox AO         
    Ms Maina Gielgud AO           
    Mrs Lynnette Harvey     
    Dr Valmai Pidgeon AO   
    Mr Kenneth R Reed AM             
    Mrs Roslyn Packer AC   
    Mr Graeme Murphy AO
    Ms Janet Vernon AM     
    Mrs Diana Ramsay AO
    Mr Ian McRae AO            
    Ms Marilyn Rowe OBE   
    Mr Peter Clemenger AO
    Mrs Joan Clemenger AO
    Mr Peter Smedley              
    Ms Julie da Costa OAM 
    Mr David Crawford AO  
    Professor John Rose AO
    Mrs Barbara Duhig
    Ms Marilyn Jones OBE
    Mr Christopher Knoblanche AM
    Mr Stephen Baynes
    Mr James Cousins AO
    Mrs Sarah Murdoch
    Mrs Toni Cody
    Mr William Bowness AO
    Mrs Frances Gerard
    Mrs Susan Morgan
    Mrs Beverley Brown OAM
    Mrs Barbara Marrett